What Colour is the Sky in your World?

This is day 18 of the Writer’s Circle challenge: my favourite colour and why

My favourite colour depends on the day. It can even depend on the time of day.

At 7:30 am, I love the perfect shade of a coffee that is made with just the right amount of cream.

In between, I’m submerged in blue Twitter birds and Facebook logos. Blue isn’t my favourite colour.Untitled design

Later in the day, I love the colour of caramel on top of my macchiato. Unless it’s November or December, in which case I like the colour of nutmeg on my eggnog latte.

If it’s a ‘gird your loins and your wallet’ kind of day, I skip Starbucks and instead love the perfect shade of a coffee that is made with just the right amount of cream (sound familiar?)

At 3:25 pm, I love the shade of pink of my daughter’s jacket as she comes flying out the door and runs directly into my arms, almost knocking us both to the ground.

At 5:01 pm, I love the crystal clean look of a crisp Sauvignon Blanc.

What others?

I love the colour of a rich and delectable Pinot Noir;

The hues of a gorgeous cashmere sweater – though since I don’t own one, I just covet the ones I see in the LL Bean catalogue;

The pink in the sky when we get pink skies at night (sailor’s delight);

The kelly green of the steamed edamame that my daughter will eat by the bucket load, giving me relief that if she won’t eat a rainbow all the time, at least she’s getting some green in her some of the time.

By 11 pm, I’m happy to see the inside of my eyelids. I’m not sure what colour those are.

In Summer, I love swimming pool blue and Homer Simpson cloud skies.

In Fall, I love every colour of every leaf but particularly the brilliant scarlet of our neighbour’s Japanese maple.

In Winter, I love the sun glinting all colours of the rainbow on newly fallen snow, viewed from the safety and warmth of my house with a cup of coffee that is made with just the right amount of cream.

In Spring, I love the green of buds and the colour of sweaters not covered by puffy coats.

What’s your favourite colour? Or for my American friends: What’s your favorite color?

IMG_3403-0

Leave a Reply

