Girls Just Wanna Have Fun

This is day 11 of the Writer’s Circle challenge: My current relationship

The day my divorce papers came in the mail from the court, I changed my relationship status on Facebook. The very same day. It made it real for me. Real and public.

I am single. Divorced. Happier than I have been in a long time. What did Gloria Steinem say?

“A woman without a man is like a fish without a bicycle.”

True.

As a single mom who cares for my 6 year old daughter 100% of the time – her dad lives too far away to be helpful – I find that I don’t think about relationships much. I work at home and the only people I see are other parents, all of whom are married.

At least for now. I mean, let’s face it: the divorce rate in this country is something upward of 46%. So look around at the couples you know: half of them will be getting divorced at some point. Which half? I couldn’t say, but it’s an epidemic, that’s for sure. I don’t wish it for my friends though… It’s not fun starting all over again, post-kid, post decade and a half or more of marriage, with all the baggage that goes along with all that.

Frankly, I can’t imagine bringing another person into my world right now. I’m not at the point where I want someone else’s problems, along with my own. I just don’t feel like my shoulders are broad enough for more. So am I missing out on the good for fear of the bad? Probably. But for now, that’s okay. The one who comes first is the wee face. She has to.

And you know what else?

30 day writing challenge

30 day writing challenge from Writer’s Circle

Leave a Reply

