The Place of my Dreams

I found a post from Writer’s Circle on Facebook – with a 30 day writing challenge. This is day 5: A place you would live but have never visited.

The grass is always greener, so they say. Anyone who knows me knows that I yearn to live in France one day. But since I’ve visited there many times, I can’t write about that.

So I’ll tell you about another place I’ve wanted to live, at one time or another: I want to live in Hobbiton.

Is she for real?  I can hear you saying.

Yes. She is for real. (I can hear you, you know!)

Whenever life gets to be too much, I dream of moving to Hobbiton. I dream of tiny hillside embedded homes with hallways and so many rooms leading off the halls, filled with good things to eat and drink, nice clothes and quality furniture. Made by hobbits.

I would have hobbit friends and my daughter would go to hobbit school. We would have first breakfast and second breakfast, elevensies, luncheon, tea, supper… And I could finally and fully  give in to being the round person that I am destined to be.

But there isn’t a place like that, not in real life! I can hear you saying.

Well, actually, there is. But that’s not the point. Hobbiton is the place of my dreams. A world with no social media, no bullies, no mean girls, no cars, no taxes, no nothing icky. A place I can go in my head when the real world has me flummoxed and overwhelmed.

Of course, there would also be no take out. That might be a problem. I guess I had better stay here.

30 day writing challenge

30 day writing challenge from Writer’s Circle

One thought on “The Place of my Dreams

  1. Pingback: Talk About Being Born Under the Right Sign! | Send Me to Paris

Leave a Reply

