OMG, I’m an E-Snob!

The other day, I posted on Twitter that I was looking for a local book club to join.  Someone tweeted back that I should go and check the bulletin board at the local library.

My first reaction:

What? The ‘what kind’ of board?  You want me to get in to my car and drive to the library to check the bulletin board?  Who posts things on bulletin boards anymore?

And that’s when it hit me: I’m an e-snob.

I want to connect with people on Twitter or Facebook and then go to the book club IRL.  That’s what I want.  Because I ASSUME that I am not going to have a ton in common with the people who posted their book club on the bulletin board at the local library, instead of using Twitter or Facebook.

I’m sure I’m wrong about that. I’m probably missing out on some wonderful IRL relationships (though how good at those can I be when I insist on using acronyms like ‘IRL’?)

But I can’t help it!

My husband and I have been married for 14 years this September.  When we got married in 1999, I planned the whole thing with online resources: If your business wasn’t online, I wasn’t using you.  So my snobbery is long standing and well formed, don’t you think?

Anyway, I think it’s too late for me. I’m beyond redemption and I’m okay with that.

Leave a Reply

