ChristmasTini Anyone?

Ho!Ho!Ho! ‘Tis the season for Christmas movies galore. If you’re going to have to sit through the movies, you might as well have some ‘mom and dad juice’ to go with them. I am not a drink expert, all imbibing evidence to the contrary, but I think I’ve seen enough Christmas movies, thanks to my ‘christmas focused’ husband, to know that drinkies make them better.

I crowdsourced a list of favourite movies on Twitter:

Christmas Vacation
Miracle on 34th Street – newer one
Christmas Carol – with Alistair Sim as Scrooge version
The Holiday
Polar Express suggested by @JenGPhotog
Christmas Story suggested by @jacksoncreek
Grinch That Stole Christmas – with the voice of Boris Karloff in the animated version
Elf – several recommendations for this one.
Rudolph the Red Nose Reindeer suggested by @a_richardson
Santa Clause is Coming to Town suggested by @a_richardson
The Santa Clause
And for my Twitter friend Alex AKA @clippo : Love Actually

Now some of these I have never seen and some of these I haven’t seen since I was ten, so I’ll just pair the ones I know I’ll be seeing in the coming weeks:

Christmas Vacation – Something with eggnog, because who can forget those absolutely fabulous antler cups that Randy Quaid sucked back the nog from? This recipe from Bar None Drinks appealed to me:

Captain Nog
1/3 part(s) Captain Morgan’s Spiced Rum
2/3 part(s) Eggnog
1 sprinkle(s) Cinnamon optional

Miracle on 34th Street – Mara Wilson is SO cute in this movie. Reminds me entirely of my daughter, with her mannerisms and her 6 going on 48 speech patterns. So this movie screams for a glass of sweet sherry. It’s classy. It’s sweet. It can be drunk young but taste so old fashioned. It’s perfect.

Christmas Carol – A hot spiced rum punch for this one, just like the one he will have with Bob Cratchit after Bob picks his jaw up off the floor and buys a new coal scuttle. Once again from Bar None Drinks:

Hot Rum and Cider Punch
2 pint(s) Gold Puerto Rican Rum
2 pint(s) Apple Cider
4 oz. Lemon Juice
2 tbsp. Maple Syrup
2 tbsp. Sugar
Heat gently and garnish with lemon slices, cloves, and cinnamon.

The Holiday – Vodka. Because haven’t we all been in a situation where someone offers us a cuppa tea and all we really want is a shot of straight vodka? No? Just me? Okay, well straight vodka might not be the order of the day, but the simplicity of this martini is definitely the way to go:

2 oz Vodka – Our favourite is Grey Goose, but whatever you prefer
2-3 Drops Dry (white) Vermouth
Lemon twist or green cocktail olive

Polar Express – Cocoa required for this one. Best of shared with a BFF or the kids (sans booze in theirs, of course). After all, isn’t what that movie is all about? The spirit of Christmas and sharing with new friends? So heat some up and add 5 mini marshmallows per mug for the kids and a good shot of Baileys for you.

The Grinch that Stole Christmas – I don’t think they make a drink with Roast Beast in it, so what’s the next best thing? Red wine. Why? I don’t know. It’s the first thing that came to mind when I thought of Roast Beast. If I was going to eat a piece of roast beast, a gorgeous red wine to follow would be my choice. Pinot Noir, anybody?

Love Actually – Champagne, I think. Pink. Simplicity itself, not unlike Hugh Grant in this movie (Sorry Alex… I tried. Really, I did!)

3 thoughts on “ChristmasTini Anyone?

  1. I don’t know that I can forgive you suggesting pink champagne (blech) for Love, Actually – which I love! Perhaps a lovely red from the Rhone would be more suitable.

    • Them’s fighting words!

      Laurent Perrier brut rosé is my favourite champagne (because I AM that much of a snob to have a favourite champers)

      and …

      That movie is pretty much pink bubbles, with the exception of the beginning with Liam Neeson.

      Can we agree to disagree and have a bottle of each?

Leave a Reply

