If They Charge, Don’t Run

My husband and I were in Costco yesterday, a place I never go to and hopefully I will never have to go again, but there we were. With an over-tired preschooler who didn’t really want to be there unless we were planning to go to the toy aisle.

We weren’t.

Then she caught a glimpse of the boxes upon boxes of dolls down one aisle and a total nuclear meltdown followed. Mommy started getting ‘those looks’ from people. Even people with kids who weren’t screaming. So I picked up a dolly and gave it to her. Silence enveloped the area around our cart.

Why, oh why, did I give in? I have set an unbelievably dangerous precedent for future shopping trips anywhere. Why do I care what the people in Costco think? It’s not the ballet! It’s not fine dining! It’s COSTCO!

And I don’t think it’s that I was worried that she was disturbing the customers with her wailing. I think I was worried that they would think that I was an ineffective mother, which clearly I am since I did the very thing you shouldn’t: I gave in.

Raising kids is like meeting mountain gorillas: if they charge, never run.

Thanks to Diann Fossey for that last tidbit, and an even bigger thanks to Ali Martell for the inspiration for this post.

3 thoughts on “If They Charge, Don’t Run

  1. I remember shopping with my mother way back in the 60s, seeing some toy or book that I wanted at the time very badly, and quietly weeping when she told me I couldn’t have it (we had an understanding that if I threw a tantrum in public she would spank me in front of everyone. I wasn’t sure she meant it, but I didn’t dare test her). Within a day or so I would inevitably forget what I’d wanted so badly the day before; children are very impulsive. In July she did something that made me cry harder than I’ve cried for anything else: she died.

    • I’m so sorry for your loss.

      For me, I have to assume that I am over compensating for something by giving in. Plus, I am an idiot for going to a store like that with a WAY over tired 3.5 year old.

      Live and learn had best become my new motto.

      Take care…

  2. Thanks for your kind condolences. I miss her a lot. Even before we knew that she was ill, my mother and I talked about how children live in a very transient world. Today’s tragedies will be forgotten next week. Healthy children get over these momentary disappointments. It strengthens them for the ones ahead.

Leave a Reply

