A Chance Opportunity and Blissdom 2012

Thanks to Heather Burke of Smart Space Organizing (www.smartspaceorganizing.ca) — follow her @Smart_Spaces — I was able to attend this year’s Blissdom 2012 Conference.

Thank goodness.

I spend A LOT of time online and have met some amazing people on Twitter in particular, but that tiny little avatar box and 140 characters isn’t enough. Meeting all of these mostly women in real life and seeing others that I haven’t seen in months makes the trip a worth while endeavor, even for me.

I say ‘even for me’ because I don’t blog as often as I should and my personal blog (this one) certainly doesn’t have a lot of focus. My new more business oriented blog: www.shrinkingvioletmedia.ca has focus but that’s still not why I wanted to go to Blissdom.

I wanted to go because I got to sit with Jen Reynolds, Editor in Chief at Canadian Family and get a far better understanding of what magazines like hers are looking for in an article pitch.

I got to hear Ann Douglas (needs no introduction, right?) explain some things about publishing a book that I did not know at all and doing it in a way that makes me feel like, armed with this information, I can do it too.

I got to listen to Jian Ghomeshi talk about his new book ‘1982’ and find myself nodding and laughing, totally getting where he is coming from and why he wrote his book.

Ami McKay, author of amongst other books, ‘The Virgin Cure’ spoke about her and her family’s history, culminating in the understanding that if you’re going to do something, do it NOW.

Amber MacArthur. Best. Speaker. Ever. I felt smarter when she was done speaking. I knew more than I did the day before and that’s always a plus.

And in particular, I enjoyed meeting Jeni (@highlyirritable), who reminded me that while I am the only person in my own head, there are lots of others with similar thoughts.

Thanks everyone and hope to see you next year!

11 thoughts on “A Chance Opportunity and Blissdom 2012

  1. Meeting you and having a couple Caesars together was one of my highlights of the weekend. It was certainly better than our “dinner”. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Meeting you was one of my weekend highlights! Laughing over dead relatives, idiot government officials, and poor customer service has never been so fun. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Looking forward to next year!

  3. So many highlights! I’m loving reading the recaps. We all come from such different places and it was neat to experience the same things and hear different takes.

    I can’t wait to hear about your dinner. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • The only thing I wish is that we had longer sessions – or maybe 2 micros and one long one. I think we’d see some great discussions and sharing… But it WAS great and I am very thankful that I was able to go.

  4. Although we met over a disastrous dinner, the laughing and conversation around the table are some of the more valuable experiences that such a weekend brings. I hope to read more here.

Leave a Reply

