Living in RetirementVille, Ontario

I’m sitting in a cafe in Peterborough, listening to other conversations.

Because that’s what I do.

But these aren’t young hipsters and stylish mommies in a cool retro styling neighbourhood. This is RetirementVille. Average age 60. So it’s kind of retro. But not always in a good way.

Now before you jump all over me, there is nothing wrong with older people. I love older people. I aspire to be one, someday.

My Mom keeps telling me that young people, when they see an older person, only see the white hair and treat that person accordingly. Not as an intelligent human being but as a doddering old fart. I would argue that this type of treatment is a two way street.

Like today for example: I overheard a man saying that ‘young people don’t know anything. They don’t even know what NATO stands for.’ Now aside from the fact that this particular yard stick for measuring youth intelligence eludes me, I laughed. Most unfortunately, I laughed out loud. Hope he didn’t hear me. Anyways, even though I am 40, I am comparatively speaking, a younger person. I almost stood up and told him what it stood for. And it wasn’t North Atlantic Treaty Organization.

Leave a Reply

