Lecture Me on Formula … C’mon… I Dare You

I wanted to spit nails when I read that New York City hospitals are putting formula under lock and key and while a new mother is free to request some, she will also have to endure what amounts to a lecture on the benefits of breastfeeding before she receives it. Spit. Nails.

It harkens back to the days in Ontario where a woman had to go before a panel of three (usually male) doctors in order to justify her need for an abortion.

I chose formula. I did the research. I read the books. I chose formula.

Because that’s what this has to be about: not whether formula is good or bad, or whether breast is best – we know it is. That’s not the point. It’s about choice. It’s about my choice on how to utilize my body and how to nourish my infant. Formula is not the devil here. And a woman who has just endured labour and potentially an episiotomy or a c-section and is tired, and worried and nervous about her new baby should not have to endure a lecture from the people who are supposed to be there to help her. Not ever. For any reason.

Still spitting nails, as you can see…

Here is where I originally read about it: http://www.yummymummyclub.ca/blogs/mummy-buzz/20120801/new-york-hospitals-keeping-formula-under-lock-and-key-fri

Leave a Reply

