Hobson’s Choice

You know, I’m always suprised but what I don’t know.

I’m not surprised that I don’t know things.  It’s more like I’m surprised about what things I don’t know. 

For example, I’ve been hitting the expression: “Hobson’s Choice” a lot lately and while I got the gist of it from the context of my reading, I didn’t actually know what it meant.

“A Hobson’s choice is a free choice in which only one option is offered. As a person may refuse to take that option, the choice is therefore between taking the option or not; “take it or leave it”. The phrase is said to originate with Thomas Hobson (1544–1631), a livery stable owner in Cambridge, England. To rotate the use of his horses, he offered customers the choice of either taking the horse in the stall nearest the door or taking none at all.” *

*http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hobson’s_choice

Leave a Reply

