300 Word Challenge to Myself

I’ve been thinking about writing a book.

A book about buying and running a community newspaper, in small town Ontario.

A book that includes so many of the characters and interesting encounters we’ve had in the last decade.

What has stopped me? Every time I would think about it, I would feel overwhelmed by the prospect of writing a BOOK. A WHOLE BOOK. Really?

Then I read this:

“I think the most important thing I learned from Stephen King I learned as a teenager, reading King’s book of essays on horror and on writing, Danse Macabre. In there he points out that if you just write a page a day, just 300 words, at the end of a year you’d have a novel. It was immensely reassuring – suddenly something huge and impossible became strangely easy. As an adult, it’s how I’ve written books I haven’t had the time to write, like my children’s novel Coraline.”

From: http://journal.neilgaiman.com/2012/04/popular-writers-stephen-king-interview.html

So today, I am starting my own 300 word challenge. 300 words a day. Can I do it? We’ll see. Stay tuned.

UPDATE: I’m revising my challenge (yes, already). I’m writing 300 words but not necessarily on the book. The 300 words can include posts to my blog and articles for other publications. After all, there are only so many hours in the day when I’m not playing the role of human jungle gym, chef, maid, chief hugger and bath giver.

Leave a Reply

