Why I Don’t Make New Year’s Resolutions

New Year’s resolutions feel like setting myself up for failure. Life with a three year old changes too fast to resolve anything beyond the most basic and, well, obvious.

I can wax lyrical about being a better person, being nicer, and so on and so on. But what do those things mean without concrete actions? Yadda Yadda Yadda (insert Charlie Brown adult voice here).

I read this on Twitter, and I think it is the most relevant to my life and my wish to move to Paris one day, so I am absconding with it as my ‘resolutions’ too:

@JustAnneinParis: New Year’s resolutions: more reading, less eating, more museums, less TV, more hugging, less whining.

Can I add: lots of kid level fun and lots of adult level drinkies!

Thanks @JustAnneinParis, for the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

