My BlissDomCanada Take Aways

It was an interesting weekend.

I have never been to a social media conference before.

I can honestly say that I am not a focused blogger, like so many others, but rather use the blogging format for my print newspaper, to output much of the information in the paper more quickly (www.connectionnewspaper.wordpress.com )  This blog is rather more just an Internet diary, and therefore runs the gamut of Chantal Saville’s thoughts… a scary place, I grant you!

So many bloggers were at the conference who actually blog for a business: I was so impressed!  It is not an easy thing these days to get any recognition online, given the plethora of other available sites, information, online resources, etc…  It is a heartening thing to see women doing something they love, doing it well and being recognized for it.

I got an interesting understanding of the different business models that exist for monitizing blogs / websites and I LOVED the publishing panel in particular.  Being a bit of an introvert, I found it hard to approach people and introduce myself, but I nonethless got a lot out of this event and look forward to next year’s!

One thought on “My BlissDomCanada Take Aways

  1. I’m glad you enjoyed it. I had an interesting experience as well. I attended with the intention of connecting with people and learning about the blogosphere and the shifts that are happening in social media. To be honest, it wasn’t all that I expected it to be. I’m still mulling it all over, and not sure that I’ll come to any one conclusion. I wish we had connected… maybe next time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

